MASL 2 Announces All League Team First Line

TAMPA, Fla – The two teams that met in the Major Arena Soccer League 2 finals have players filling four of the six spots on the M2 First Line of all stars, announced today by Commissioner Chris Economides.

The First Line is anchored by Cleveland goalkeeper Marijo Musa, who also won the Hernan “Chico” Borja MVP award for his playoff performance in leading the Crunch to its first indoor soccer championship in more than two decades.

Joining him on defense is teammate Kevin Blackwood and Wichita’s Kevin Ten Eyck. Forwards include Colorado’s Francisco Rivas, Amarillo’s Vitor Patriani and Wichita’s Eduardo “Benji” Molina.

“These are truly the best of the best, and we know that these players have the attention of many Major Arena Soccer League teams,” Economides said. “A big part of M2’s mission is to create a pipeline of talent that will help grow the sport at whatever level each player chooses to play at.”

Musa dominated the goalkeeping stats, leading in wins (six), saves percentage (.815) and goals against average (5.50) during the regular season.

Ten Eyck led M2 by a wide margin in blocked shots with 23 to lead Wichita to regular-season title, while adding two goals and eight assists. In the playoffs, he had three goals in two games. Blackwood dressed for seven games, but was a big contributor with 10 goals and four assists. Two of his goals were game winners.

Rivas is the winner of the M2 2021 Golden Boot award with 29 goals and 16 assists, and was a defensive asset as well with eight blocked shots. Benji Monreal totaled 24 points in 11 games, with two game winning goals among his 16 markers in the regular season. Patriani was second in points per game average to 3.1, scoring 20 goals and adding 11 assists in leading the Bombers to a playoff berth.

Next week will bring the announcement of individual league awards, Coach of the Year honors with the M2 MVP announced on August 9.